Gift.

Dictionary.com defines the word gift as “something given voluntarily without payment in return, as to show favor toward someone, honor an occasion, or make a gesture of assistance; present.”

What does “gift” mean to you? Is it about the things you get for your birthday or Christmas? Is it about the feeling of joy or happiness coupled with the thoughts one might have had when buying your present? Or does it mean more than the materialistic value that we attach to this word?

A gift can be many things. The key words that stands out to me in the definition mentioned above is “voluntarily without payment in return.” So when something is given to us, the provider of the gift expects nothing back! What a wonderful and altruistic deed.

To me, a gift that I receive daily is the new day brought forth from God. The gift of breathing. The gift of a home, family and friends! The gift of having a job and being able to keep food on the table. The gift of being able to open my eyes and visualize all of nature’s beauty and how much she gives without us even asking. The gift of my mind to be able to think for myself, offer my thanks and sing songs of glory and praise for God! The gift of having my tongue and to be able to speak words of affirmation and love. The gift of having legs to walk up to someone I love and having the gift of arms to hold them in a tight, never ending hug when we both need to feel close.

With people sheltering at home because of the pandemic and unable to see loved ones like they used to, it has been a hard year. Lives have been lost, mental health may not be the strongest, but we still received the gift of 2021! So happiest new year to you!

I know life can be tough. Life can be taken for granted. But 2020 taught me to appreciate the little things. I have learned to thank the universe more for everything she has delivered to me but also for the things that didn’t happen. For the protection that must not have been meant for me.

I hope the gift of having lived in to 2021 yields unbelievable miracles. You WILL be gifted all that is designed for you. Keep your mind positive. Keep thanking the universe for the good and bad lessons. Attract all that is yours. Keep an open mind and be positive!

Sending you lots of love, smiles and magic for your gifts to be presented to you in the most opportune time.

Leave a comment